The six supposed stages of ‘the policy cycle’


in Geek stuff, Politics

  1. Agenda-setting – identification and definition of problems and advocacy of action,
  2. Policy formulation – specification of goals and choice of means for achieving them,
  3. Policy legitimation – mobilization of support and enactment,
  4. Policy implementation – mobilization of resources and application to goal achievement,
  5. Policy evaluation – measurement of results and redefinition of goals or agenda, and
  6. Policy revision or termination.

Vig, Norman J. and Michael E. Kraft (1984) “Environmental Policy from the Seventies to the Eighties,” in Norman J. Vig and Michael E. Kraft (eds) Environmental Policy in the 1980s: Reagan’s New Agenda, Washington D.C.: CQ Press. p. 546

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: